Someone take my CLE-card

I feel like a total poseur.

I am a Clevelander. I am winter-vincible! Single digits? Who needs a coat?! Winter weather advisory? If I can open the door to get outside, there’s no stopping me from getting out on those black ice-encrusted and unsalted roads – and cursing the white-knuckled drivers going 20 mph repeating Hail Mary’s while local traffic cruises by at or above the speed limit.

Yet I stayed inside and hibernated all weekend like Armageddon was coming.

We got like, 5 inches. Anything less than a foot is a “dusting” to us lakeside-inhabitants. They don’t call it the Snowbelt for nothing, ya know?

I cancelled 3 appointments with potential wedding venues. We rescheduled a trip to visit little sis. I blew off my best friend’s wine and cupcakes sleepover invitation. I am the least awesome person in Cuyahoga county right now.


Don’t worry though, we still made it to the gym each day.  Heaven forbid…


* * * * * * * * * * * *



Anyways we had our own hermit Super Bowl party yesterday – by ourselves. We pretended like we were at some big, socially-stimulating and exciting get together with tons of people like all of our friends were, sat at home in our sweats, and made some deliciouso fake-bad-for-you party foods:



Fresh salsa – obv, it’s my signature item – and cut up some avocado to put on the chips. No food processor = no guac. Boo!

Boneless hot “wings” – baked these bad boys and put some Franks Buffalo Wing Sauce on half way through. Yummy


MY FIRST EVER BATCH OF REAL CHILI! – Mmmm and omg soo good. My two most missed foods since veggie-ism are wings and good, spicy, hot, hearty chili. And I got both of those yesterday! Ahh in heaven and can’t wait to go home for another big bowl (or two).

Started with some of this, grilled on a non-stick:

While that cooked I threw the following into a big stew pot:
2 cans stewed toms

1/2 can of great northern (white) beans
1/2 can dark kidney beans
1 can of Medium chili beans
1 large jalapeno – sliced and halved
10-15 banana pep rings, and about 1/4 c of juice from the can
1/4 med sweet onion, cut into 1″ pieces
1 c water
cayanne powder, black pepper, ground garlic salt, and oregano

Once the crumbles were browned I tossed them into the pot and heated it on med until it started to bubble. Reduced to simmer and left for the gym (9 mile run optional). After simmering for about 2 hours I took it off the heat and left it until was time to serve. God I’m salivating right now just thinking about it.

Faux-fried green beansHG’s Recipe!


Would be soo good with a packet of powdered ranch as seasoning in the breadcrumbs. I just used sea salt, garlic powder, black pepper, and oregano. Didn’t make the dip – and they def didn’t need it!

I was kind of sad after everything turned out so so amazingly good that other people weren’t there to enjoy it and shower me with culinary compliments, but it was very nice to get to eat it all ourselves :)





Your cuisinart whiz,

Sarah Soon-To-Be

Comments?

