Patience is a Virtue (That Gives Me Severe Anxiety)


Hello Dears.  It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

This will be short and sweet, as I’ve had zero time and poor networking capabilities to properly post.  I should have something for you next week, since I’ll be up north for business and spending a majority of my time in a car and in hotels.  Watch for updates on the new life and a few wedding tidbits, like cake flavors!  Yayyy!
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
I’m typically NOT a patient person, but like to pretend to be.  I like to make plans, I like to know what’s ahead, and I definitely don’t do that whole fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants thing.  Like, I know where I’m eating lunch before I go to bed the night before, and what time on Saturday I’ll need to shower… on Tuesday.
ANYWAYS.
The Nike Women’s Marathon is something I’ve wanted to do from the moment I knew it existed.  Helloooo the finisher “medals” are Tiffany necklaces, handed out by hunky, shirtless firemen.  They have an “expotique” rather than a “packet pick up”.  It sells out every year and 20,000 lucky participants get to experience a weekend only Nike could pull off.
So one late night I sat in my hotel room all alone, bored with nothing to do but gawk at the reviews and posts and pictures from previous NWM races.  Apparently still on a high from a good run earlier that day, drunk on the thought of Tiffany and Nike together, and basking in my new semi-close proximity to the race, I threw my credit card info down and put in my application for the random registration lottery.
The aching joints, ice-massages, and lost toenails were forgotten.  The miserable treadmill (hampster wheel) runs, monotonous long runs on the track, and gut-wrenching hills never existed.  All of those early mornings at the gym and the cancelling plans with friends in exchange for training runs slipped my mind.  The fact that over the past four months I’ve cursed myself on innumerable occasions for thinking running a marathon would be a good idea vanished.
Why not continue to train for ANOTHER SIX MONTHS??
Now, as I (impatiently) await the announcement of the lottery, a little voice inside of me is doing chants and rain dances and crossing fingers and nail-less toes that I get chosen.  My body on the otherhand, is hoping otherwise.  (Hindsight clearly only applies to the latter)  Registration closed on Friday, and the lottery is supposed to take place “sometime in late April.”  I’ve checked my Amex a million times, never before wishing so hard for an exorbitant amount of money to show up on that top transaction line…

Your sadistic runner friend,
Sarah Soon-To-Be
Uncategorized

Comments?

