RECAP (…finally) : 2010 MLB All Star Game

Remember a really long time ago we ran the All Star Game 5K and went to MLB Fanfest?  And I told you all about it and said it was one of the best days of my life and something I’d remember forever?

Do you also remember me saying we went to THE ACTUAL ALL STAR GAME?  That I’d die a happy woman knowing I’m 6,000% more of a baseball fan than everyone else for having gone?  That I made a giant check mark on my bucket list that day and that DEARGODIJUSTREALLYLOVEBASEBALL,OK?

I guess it’s finally time to share all that with you.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

We got to the stadium around 11:30am because we were peeing our pants excited are super baseball fans.  We ate our Subway in silence in the car, both just kind of staring at the stadium and nearly empty parking lot.  The calm before the storm.

The excitement buzzing through the air multiplied with every new fan that pulled into the parking lot.  We walked around for an hour or so, baking in the Anaheim sun, before it was time for the player parade (ie I die inside).  B and I enjoyed trying to figure out who the hell was who in their dapper suits and not their typical dirty uniforms and ball caps.

Cleveland’s lone participant (Fausto Carmona) gave us a wave after we crazy-like screamed at him – obviously baffled 1) to see Indians jerseys and 2) that anybody knew his name.  With my impecable photography competence I was able to capture good shots of about .6% of the entourage.  You’ll have to imagine the rest, and excuse the prominence of (blech) Yankees :

Andre Ethier (LA Dodgers), Andy Pettitte (NY Yankees),
Ryan Braun (Milwaukee Brewers), Derek Jeter (NY Yankees)

After the parade we found some possibly more noteworthy stars hiding in the sponsor’s tent :

Budweiser Clydesdales – Horseshoes+Beer trump pinstripes

Once the gates opened we promptly got a beer and took a lap of the stadium.  We set up shop out in left field (as traditionally we always do) to watch batting practice and soak up the omg-we’re-actually-at-the-All-Star-Game awesomeness.

This?  Heaven.
I know, I know, it’s sickening how good we
look together.
After a while we made our way up to our nosebleed seats.  Tip: there are NO bad seats at the All Star Game.  I’d have watched the game from a bathroom stall if that’s all I could get.  As expected, the player introductions and National Anthem gave me chills.  The stories of People Magazine’s “All Stars Among Us” narrated by celebrities like Julia Roberts, Harrison Ford, Charlize Theron, and all five living US presidents made me tear up.  So sweet.
And then, it was game time :)

Play Ball!

I loved every minute of it.  Well, except the exceedingly rude and obnoxious Dodgers fan a few rows down.  Other than that?  Absolutely 100% no-buts-about-it heavenly night of baseball and fun.  With the man I’m about to marry.  I have no doubts there will be many nights like this in our future…

“Baseball is like church – many attend but few understand”
– Wes Westrum

( ps : We were also part of history.  No big deal.)
(( pss : The National League won for the first time in 14 years, duh.))

Sarah Soon-To-Be

Uncategorized

One thought on “RECAP (…finally) : 2010 MLB All Star Game

Comments?

