An Ode To Babies (for my friends)

‘Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.’
‘With all endings become new beginnings.’
‘It’s the darkest before the dawn.’

All pretty cliche, but so true.  Life is funny, isn’t it?

In this time of change, loss, and hardship, I’ve been looking for a little beacon (not bacon) of light – something to remind me to count my blessings, because life is good.  It might not be great at times, but it’s always [at least], better than average.

That glimmer of light came last Saturday, when one of my dearest friends (and bridesmaid!) Ali gave birth to a perfectly healthy, and perfectly happy baby girl.

Isabella Rose, or as I like to call her,
“Baby Bella”

It’s still terribly weird for me to imagine Ali actually having a real, live, human being to take care of.  Mostly because I’m stuck in 2006 when we used to drink ourselves silly on weeknights and then argue over who’s turn it was to buy toilet paper.  (Having three female roommates was NOT always an ideal situation)

But Ali is one of those people who are just naturally good with kids.  She’s had that maternal thing going on for as long as I’ve known her.  I distinctly remember her oohing and ahhing over baby onesies in Target when we were in college.  I couldn’t even remember to take my contacts out at night, and she was already fawning for a kid.  Gave me the heebie jeebies a little bit.

Her and her husband J are already having a lovely time as parents, and I’m soooo looking forward to all the stories (horror or not) that they’ll have to share.  I’m sure they’ll work as either a form of birth control, or get my baby-oven preheating for one of our own…

HAHAHA.  BAHHHAAAAAAHA.  HAA.  LOL.

Whew.  Obviously the former.

Anyways, Baby Bella, mom, and dad are all doing fantastically well.  Being a long-distance aunt is going to be a little tough, but I am SOOO looking forward to meeting the little munchkin Christmas-time.  Plus, four month olds seem increasingly less fragile and easy to break than newborns.

Two dogs and a fiance is more than enough for OUa(L),

Sarah Soon-To-Be

Comments?

