21st Party

I’m not sure what would be cooler – if this post were about a 21st birthday party, or if it were about the 21 miles I ran yesterday.

I’m gonna go with the latter.  Sorry if you were hoping for a liquor-fueled party recap.

So I set out yesterday morning to do my first 20-miler of this training cycle.  I realized around mile 6 that I am a mapmyrun.com failure and my loop was going to be longer than planned.  I was in some sort of good mood (weird, I know) and instead of getting all pissed off and upset, I took it as a welcome challenge.  If I can run 20, what’s one more, right?

The run was nearly pain-free, water fountains seemed to magically appear everytime my Nathan handheld started to dry up, and there were SO MANY other runners and cyclists out it almost gave off a race-like atmosphere.  Still in that obnoxious good mood I found myself smiling and nodding at everyone, gaining motivation from each runner I passed.  I even at one point ran with an older gentleman and talked about racing and training and such.  Now you’re really thinking I’ve lost my marbles – running WITH someone, and TALKING to somebody other than B or the dogs??  Whaaat?  Who are you??

I think I may have found that Runner Sarah I was looking for.  I’m just hoping I can hang on to her for a while…

I survived a short-lived ice bath (there HAS to be a trick to keep the ice from melting so fast) and threw together a spinach, asparagus, tomato and quinoa salad for B’s work get-together that evening.  I managed to stay conscious and functional through the party, and it was really nice to meet everyone and have a little social stimulation again.

I woke up feeling a little rough today (naturally), so B took me up to his office for a little ultrasound on my knee and some work on  my sore quads.  Even though my knee hasn’t been bothering me NEARLY as much as it had been, I’m trying to stay proactive and keep it healthy.  If I can get through the NWM San Fran and RnR Vegas marathons semi-pain-free, I will be beyond thrilled.

Back to work in the AM.  Aren’t Sunday nights depressing?

Sarah Soon-To-Be

4 thoughts on “21st Party

  1. congrats on the training run!! 21 miles is awesome!! i’m a little behind on the training for NWM. whoops! but like you said, i’m totally guilty for running it partially (a large partially) due to the Tiffany’s and men in tuxes. helloooo, nurse.

    hopefully your knee is okay — had you injured it? or just runners knee?! i’ve had two surgeries, so i understand the frustration and worry. sending you happy knee thoughts!

    love the blog :) and see you in SF!

    Like

    • I have Osgood-Schlatter (os-whaa?) in both knees, so I’ve always had problems with them, but got a really bad bout of runners knee during my first marathon in May (yes, in the middle of the race) and haven’t been able to fully shake it. I’ve been TLC’ing, but that whole “rest” part just didn’t fit into my training schedule :P

      PS if you run by a girl shoving handfuls of Ghiradelli down her sports bra during the race, say hi. It’ll be me.

      Like

  2. Great job! Man, your long run sounds WAY better than mine!! I love that feeling! I hope it sticks around for a long time too!!!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I think I have some catching up to do with yours!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Somebody Punch Me « Once Upon a (L)ime

Comments?

