Wedding Dress Shopping (& a Sneaky Peak!)

Back in January, my two best friends ( L & Sh ) drug me into a David’s Bridal after terrorizing our first bridal show.

I am not making this up.  Do not let them tell you otherwise.  I was taken completely against my will.  Here’s the story of how I found my wedding dress, and realized 7 months later that it was “the one”…

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Our engagement party had been the night before, where we drank pitcher after pitcher of beer at Great Lakes Brewing Company (are you tired of hearing about that place yet?) and chased them with draught beers at the Winking Lizard afterwards.  Once we were finally home I stayed up and killed like, 4 bottles of champagne with B’s brother while everyone else was passed out upstairs.

When L & Sh showed up bright and early the next morning for the bridal show, I’m pretty sure I was still drunk.  We had coffee and mimosas anyways, because I had bribed them with them beforehand and I do not back down on a manipulative bribe.

(this was a different show, just proof alcohol is required to get out of them alive)

During the show I was talking to a vendor of some sort – probably slurring and falling asleep standing up – when Sh ran over with a sample from the smoothie machine people.  I was so thirsty and it was strawberry something so I thought, “Hey!  Fruit!  Durrr this will help!”  It had vodka in it.  I almost puked.

Anyways, I eventually sobered up somewhere between the tacky fashion show and the caterer’s booth who told us we could sample as much bread as we wanted.  On our way home we drove by a David’s Bridal and my super duper bridesmaids insisted we go in.  I loved that they were gung-ho on the whole shebang, but I was now in the early phases of hangover and hadn’t brushed my hair that morning.

Yeah.  Fun.  Fine.  Whatever.”

I knew I didn’t want to buy some mass-marketed off-the-rack dress, and had resigned to the idea that I’d just try on some styles to see what worked on me.  (I’m stubborn, fyi.)  We found many terrible, no-way-jose monstrocities, a few that might of had potential, and one that I eventually bought 6 months later.  I was just too hungover at the time to realize it was “the one”  ;)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The nice, partially mustachio’d sales lady pulled this one and told me to try it first.  I told her it was exactly the opposite OF what I wanted and didn’t stay outside the dressing room long enough for a proper photo.  NEXT!

I was mentally still on vacation in Cancun, and loved this dress.  I probably would have bought it on the spot… if we weren’t getting married INDOORS, in CLEVELAND.  I kind of want to go buy it now and wear it as a nightgown.

As if it weren’t too casual already, I wanted to make it short.  The sales lady for some reason didn’t think they could “just snip a bit and tuck this up like this?” like I suggested.  Coulda done it on my own with some safety pins and a roll of double-sided tape…

The lacy mermaid monster that gave me curves like Shakira and the inability to bend at the waist.  Again, almost the opposite of what we were looking for.

This dress had pockets?  I love pockets, I do.  But there’s a time and a place for them, no?  (sidenote : there is no time nor place for bed head like that.  Shameful…)

I loved this, A LOT, but when L said “You could put a blazer on and wear it to a work function!” I decided we should stear a little further from ‘business casual’ and more towards ‘biggest-day-of-your-life attire’

And then it happened.  I’m not sure if any of us knew it at the time – well, I’m certain I didn’t, but maybe L or Sh did.  They’re both smarter than me.  And had legal blood alcohol levels.  So maybe they did know…

I’ll give you a little peak, but I don’t think I’m brave enough to put it in all its glory out on the web.  I can’t face any “OMG Sarah, ewww, B is going to run out the back door screaming when he sees you walking down the aisle in that!” sort of comments.  Also, I still kind of want it to be a surprise ;)

When I tried it on again in July (completely sober, fyi), my little sister started bawling.  I bought it on the spot.

And to date, I’m calling that the BIGGEST, most RELIEVING check mark ever made in the history of to do lists.

p.s. I’ve got just over 7 months to get all those other pesky little check marks made…  Let the countdown begin!

Sarah Soon-To-Be

7 thoughts on “Wedding Dress Shopping (& a Sneaky Peak!)

  1. I love that you found your dress drunk. I probably would have bought some skimpy dress with shoulder pads and called it vintage if I picked out my dress drunk. Can’t wait to see the whole thing!

    Like

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress! Like the above comment, it was my dress too. I’m a little sad that I only got to wear it once and am still (unsuccessfully) trying to think of places I can go where it won’t look out of place to wear it again. You will be stunning!

    Like

  3. Ahhh! Love the dress…and like Emily & Carrie I know which once it is because I wore it on my wedding day too :) Can’t wait to see you in it – you will look amazing!

    Like

  4. Pingback: I’m Sorry If I Hate Your Wedding Dress « Once Upon a (L)ime

Comments?

