My Friends Should Be Travel Agents.

(Reference the tale of Mini Twin stowing away on a flight she was not booked on as preface to this almost equally disturbing travel faux pas for full “you dummy!” effect…)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

At the beginning of December, my friend BHibs randomly resurfaced out of nowhere* and said she wanted to come down to SoCal for New Years Eve.  I told her we didn’t have any plans, but if anything can get me out of my sweatpants and motivated for a fun night out, it’s a visitor!

*We jointly fell out of touch, I won’t let her shoulder all the blame.  It’s one of those don’t-talk-for-months and then when you finally do find time to catch up, it’s like no time has passed at all.  So I guess it’s not so bad?

Please come!”  I begged her, “I’d love to see you, it’s been far too long!”

And then she ignored me.

And then 2 weeks later I was bored in the car on the way to Vegas and went on a social reconnecting spree – texting practically everybody in my address book.  True to her somewhat ditzy and forgetful self (they’re endearing qualities) she replied with :

OMG, hahahahaha I didn’t even see you wrote back!  Whoopsies.  So when can I come?  I’ll book now.”

We went over all the details – what days I had to work, what time I could pick her up from the airport, what Groupons I had that were about to expire that we MUST use, etc.  Right before I left for dinner w/ B’s parents she sent :

All booked!  Getting in Thurs at 2:30, leaving Sunday at 3:43.  Can’t wait so so excited tell B to hit the weights so he can carry my bags for me.”

And then as B & I sat at the bar with his parents enjoying an after-dinner drink (Bud Light, natch) I browsed through Facebook (bc I’m a really polite date) and saw the following status update :

I choked on my beer and stared in disbelief.  After all the logistical/timing/work issues she expertly navigated around, BH failed to ask which airport to fly into.  Granted, San Diego airport is only an hour and a half from us, but Orange County airport is literally walking distance from my office.

Long story short(er), she got her flight changed without too much hassle.  And then we went to SD anyways for NYE.  (Just for the night, and not 4 days like she tried to schedule us for)

My favorite part of the whole story is trying to figure out what would have happened if she hadn’t posted that on FB or I hadn’t seen it.  I would have showed up at OC like, “where are you?” and she’d’ve been in SD like “I’m right by baggage claim Why don’t I see you??” 

Who knows how long it would’ve taken us to figure it out…

Sarah Soon-To-Be

Comments?

