So, What’s Next?

On the heels of my 5W2M success at the LA Marathon this weekend, I’ve gotten a lot of

So, what’s next?

Although I’d love to take advantage of my current marathon-ready endurance and hop right back on another 26.2 trail, it’s not in the cards.  I’m hoping Marathon #4 (a.k.a Sub 4 or Bust) will fall nicely into my calendar somewhere around fall/early winter.  You know, after the chaos of the wedding (July) and the honeymoon (Aug) calms a bit.

In the meantime, I’ve got an 18-month-old Half PR that needs breaking (1:49.40).  Where and when might this be happening??

May 1st – PCRF Cinco de Mayo Half – Irvine, CA

Flat course, small race, on my home turf.  Plus I’ve got some vengence against this race – the “broken foot” happened here and was the start of eight months of chain-reaction injuries.

May 30th – Laguna Hills Half – Laguna Hills, CA

I don’t know much about it other than I’ve never raced on a Monday before…

June 26th – Columbia Station Half – Columbia Station, OH

This is the weekend before the wedding.  Wouldn’t a PR be a nice wedding gift to myself??  There’s an inline-skate Half too, which a few friends are going to do (now you can’t back out, L!) and I’m super excited about it.

 

Speaking of the PCRF Half, 1) All you locals should probably definitely run it so we can have lunch and drinks afterwards.  Great, glad that’s settled.

2) If you can’t make it to SoCal for the race, you can do something ALMOST as cool as becoming my new BFF – you can go visit Heather’s blog (365 days of awesome).  Her daughter Gabby is battling Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia, and Heather is running & fundraising to help find an end to pediatric cancers.

Oh, did I mention she’s hosting an awesome Gu & RoadID giveaway – so go wish her luck at the race and send Gabby some good vibes, and if you have a few spare $’s, make a contribution to her fundraising team.  (All proceeds of the race and the fundraising done by teams goes directly to the research center)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

B’s mom’s in town so we’re gonna go have some fun and cheer on Ohio State to a Sweet Sixteen victory tonight.  O-H!

Sarah Soon-To-Be

6 thoughts on “So, What’s Next?

  1. If you want to PR, you should probably pick Cinco de Mayo over Laguna Hills Half. But if you do that I won’t get to eat your dust like at LA as I will be eating everyone else’s dust at Big Sur on May 1. If you do them both, I think you get another medal just for doing that.

    Like

  2. I’m going for a PR at the OKC half on May 1st. I haven’t ran a half (or any race over a 5k for that matter) in over a year so I guess if I can crawl across the finish line I’ll be happy.

    Like

  3. I don’t get why the OC Marathon and PCRF are on the same day in the same general vicinity (like the courses are what, 5-10 miles apart?). Makes no sense to me. Basically, if I do any race that weekend I have to do the OC half because one of my running friends (you met her – tall chick with dark hair) is running her second marathon in a long freaking time and she is going to PR by an ass-load of time (prob an hour less) and we gotta be there. So, no PCRF for me.

    Like

  4. Girl, the last thing you are going to want to do a week before your wedding is run a half. I’m telling you, it’s crazy hectic. My wedding was hectic and I had an all inclusive package, so I’m just sayin’. :-) You will enjoy the extra time to get stuff done or actually sleep in.

    Like

Comments?

