“My Run” : Except, Not Really…

This is for all my Ohio friends who thought I was too loserish/anti-social to make friends in California.

Yeah yeah, I used the internet… So?  Shut up.  It still counts.

Thanks for the pic, Monica

Monica (RunEatRepeat), Pam, Sarah (SkinnyRunner), myself

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Last night I had a nice dinner/movie date with some runner pals.  I’m usually 100% against the movie theater, 1) because I hate spending $12 when I could spend $1 at Redbox and 2) because I don’t like disrupting everyone’s cinematic experience when my teensy bladder strikes and the urge to pee my pants hits.

But since the theater is a 4 minute walk from our apartment, and I’m not really in the business of turning down social activities with real-life humans, I said I’d go.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“My Run” is a documentary about a man that ran a marathon everyday for 75 days straight.  Yes, you read that right.  26.2+ miles, EVERYDAY.

After his wife’s sudden passing (breast cancer), Terry wanted to do something drastic to bring attention to the struggles of single parent families.  As a joke, one of his sons said, ‘Why don’t you run to California?’ (from Minnesota)  The Summer Olympics were in Atlanta that summer, so Terry said, ‘How about the opening ceremony of the Olympics?’

And that’s how it started.  Just like that.  This 57 year-old man LITERALLY ran from Minnesota to Georgia;  2,000+ miles on foot.

Terry Hitchcock was no runner, and he was definitely not an endurance athlete.  He had heart problems and was on medication for high blood pressure, and even suffered a heart attack on one of his training runs.

There were parts where my inner runner cringed – Terry describing trying to get out of bed the morning after Day 1.  And realizing he had 74 more mornings just like it coming.

There were sadistically sad parts – The reading of the letter his wife wrote to him when she knew she was going to die.

There were heart-warming parts – The little girl with the ticket stub from the Twins game where Terry threw out the first pitch (the night before Day 1).

There were parts that made me angry – The team bailing and driving back to Minnesota half way through.  AND taking Terry’s dog with them.

There were happy parts – Terry and his eldest son (the lone team member left) running the final mile into Atlanta together, and crossing the finish line.

But the movie isn’t REALLY about the running.  It’s about personal struggle and conquering inner demons.  I cried, because death and cancer make me cry.  I laughed, becuase HELLO didn’t he ever get bloody nipples running in those cotton t-shirts?  There wasn’t body glide in 1996, was there? 

But I didn’t leave the theater with a gutso to go tackle a 20-miler or register for 50K.  This is not a motivational running movie like a lot of people thought (all three of us and every blog review I’ve read).  It is a touching story about a man with a big heart that overcomes an incredible and seemingly impossible feat.

“My Run” inspires to dream bigger than you ever thought possible.  Set crazy goals, give everything and more to reach them, and relish in the accomplishment that nobody thought you’d reach.

Oh, and don’t run through East St Louis.

Sarah Soon-To-Be

9 thoughts on ““My Run” : Except, Not Really…

  1. I give you permission to judge me based on the shallowness of what I’m about to say in comparison to this post about an inspirational movie (but hope you won’t because what I’m about to say is nice)

    I really like your shoes! A LOT! :)

    Like

  2. I totally laughed at your comment about my collage being distorted if I had not forgotten to take that photo on March 17th. LOL! Umm, so you didn’t invite me to date night. :( Just kidding, I was actually at the Spectrum last night on a date with the bf. We ate at Chipotle and then I made him go shopping with me at Old Navy. He wasn’t for that at all. Men.

    You are so tall! Jealous!

    Like

  3. Laughing about the first comment, because I really, really wanted to ask you where you got your shoes, but didn’t want to sound crazy after the serious post. Thanks for taking one for the team, Sharon. :-)

    And, you are so cute in the picture – love it!

    The movie sounds really interesting. I will also probably wait until I can DVR it (we’re lazy at our house & have small peeps), but now I want to check it out.

    Like

  4. Oooo. I want to check out this documentary. Sounds intriguing, and if it caused you to cry, thats a pretty good sign I’ll love it…because I’ll bawl my freaking eyes out. And for some reason I love those kinds of movies.

    And I love the shoes too.

    Like

  5. Pingback: You Asked(/Begged) : “My Run” Date Sandals « Once Upon a (L)ime

Comments?

