The Traveling Wedding Dress

One of my biggest concerns with planning a wedding long-distance was how to get the dress safely from point A (California) to point B (Ohio).

If you’re a new reader and are wondering WHAT THE F kind of a backwards destination wedding we had, B & I are both from Ohio and as it turns out it’s easier for two people to fly somewhere than to convince 170 people to fly somewhere.

I purchased my dress at a David’s Bridal in CA (you can read about that sob-tastic event with Mini Twin here), and had all of the alterations done out here as well.  At my final fitting I asked them not to press it, since it was going to get wrinkled in transit.  Good thing, too – that ol dress went through the wringer with me…

First stop : Security

 

Yes, I had to put it through the scanner.  The dumb male TSA agent told me to “just fold it up and put it in a bin” – and watched me struggle to compress 9 lbs of toulle into a bin the size of a cafeteria lunch tray.  Finally a woman came over and laid it flat across the belt, handing it to another worker on the other end so it didn’t get caught in the spinners.  Men…

Second stop : Our Gate

 

Seat mate totally hogged both armrests.  RUDE.

Timeout : Pee Break

 

Third Stop : Flight #1 – SNA : DFW

 

American Airlines is wedding gown-friendly.  They let me hang my dress in the first class closet (with the business mens’ coats and the captain’s hat), even though I had a piddly economy seat.  I tried to convince them I’d have separation anxiety and need medical attention so they should probably just upgrade me to fancy-class too, but they weren’t biting.

I did get the next best thing – an empty middle seat!  I seriously am the luckiest person in the world at this game.

 

So I celebrated.  And fell asleep promptly after takeoff.  (random fact – I hardly ever sleep on planes, and I NEVER sit at the window.  Got a little crazy on this trip…)

 

Pit stop in Dallas.  Literally.

 

Another Timeout : Coffee Time

 

Fourth & Final Stop : Flight #2 – DFW : CLE

 

Once I got to Ohio I called the local David’s to make an appointment for it to be pressed.  Since it hadn’t been done yet (the service is included with your alterations) they did it free of charge, which was a wonderful surprise.  At that point in the process, when it seems all you’re doing is swiping credit cards and writing checks, any saved dollar is precious.

And that, my friends is the tale of our cross-country travels.  Next up : Beer & Humidity Kick My Race Ego  (it was bound to happen, sometime…)

OUaL

(It’s not a very creative new sign off, but for the purpose of consistency it’s gonna have to do.  LAME-OOOO, I know)

22 thoughts on “The Traveling Wedding Dress

  1. I had to take my dress from Orlando to Vegas – and never got it pressed. I put it in the bathroom and ran a hot shower at the hotel. Then I used a $5 water steamer on it. Probably not my brightest idea.

    Like

    • Did it work out alright? I’m going to half-ass press mine before the Trash The Dress shoot (bc it’d be dumb to get it cleaned before THAT, but it got rolled up and shoved in an overhead, OH and I drug it un-bustled all around the streets of downtown Cleveland for a few hours, so it’s kinda trashed already…)

      Like

      • It did work out ok. I just had to spend extra time on it and it saved me some money because the David’s Bridal in Vegas wasn’t in a convienent spot.

        I wanted to do a trash the dress but then I keep thinking how much I paid for mine so I let it hang in the closet mocking me instead. Maybe I’ll wear it to the movies.

        Like

      • It did work out ok. I just had to spend extra time on it and it saved me some money on cab fair because the David’s Bridal in Vegas wasn’t in a convienent spot.

        I wanted to do a trash the dress but then I keep thinking how much I paid for mine so I let it hang in the closet mocking me instead. Maybe I’ll wear it to the movies.

        Like

  2. I travel with mine (DC – Charlotte – Rio de Janeiro) as a carry-on the whole time. Basically just stuck it in my roll on carry-on bag (with the garment bag and all), and hung it right away (got there a week and a half before). Didn’t even need to be pressed!

    Like

  3. at first I thought the dress was just chillin’ in the scanner. without garment bag. I thought.. THE HORROR.

    then I realized it was in a white garment back and all was okay again.

    you’re a champ! what a trip with your dress!

    Like

  4. You are so brave traveling with that dress. I would totally freakout. I am going to be a total bridezilla. I keep telling my bf that we can’t move until we are married because we wouldbe in the same position as you and would to have everything in Cleveland (because our guests would not travel) and I would freak out.

    Like

  5. We have the same story with our traveling wedding dress….sort of.

    Mine went thru Mexican customs and luck would have it, I pushed the button and got the RED light special :( All of my stuff were searched but I was prepared and had my receipts just in case.

    I actually have a post similar to this that I drafted, just waiting on pro-pics of the dress before I post it.

    I’m sad my dress got to fly first class but not me.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Upon Arrival : Beer & Glue Gun Me « Once Upon a (L)ime

Comments?

