O2O – Race Eve

I’m about to hit the road and head up north to Ojai.  I’m staying with Danica, one of the 12man Ragnar girls, who’s running O2O as her VERY FIRST MARATHON. 

Trying to chill your shit the night before, getting out the door (with all your things) on time, and navigating race morning can be super stressful – especially for your first – and I’m hoping having someone there will take some of that pressure off for her.

danica

I try not to make a habit of ruining goal races for other people… (just emily)

Ok… really I just needed a couch to crash on.

Jokes aside, it’s always nice to go through it with someone, and I’m thinking being anxious/excited/focused on Danica will help distract me from my own nerves as well.

Because no matter HOW prepared you are, HOW confident you are, or HOW “I-don’t-really-give-a-shit” you are, there’s always going to be a little bit of nervousness.  The races those butterflies haven’t shown up to?  No doubt have been absolute worst.

So I’m channeling their energy – realizing they’re there because this is something I CARE ABOUT.  I’ve put more thought and dedication into this than anything in a long time, and I can’t let that reality slip away when the road gets tough tomorrow morning.

fb

I know I’m physically capable.  I’m focusing on how I felt those first 20 miles of Eugene, and telling myself that being properly rested and tapered will be the difference I need to take care of the last 6.2.

And while I want to go in saying “I’VE SO EFFING GOT THIS,” it’s important to remember that it’s still going to hurt, and it’s still going to be hard.  This won’t be a cakewalk, but if I stay focused and strong, I know I can get my BQ.

I KNOW I can.

oiselletakechances

go fast. take chances.

I can so I will.

Marathon #7  –  Here we go.

Sarah OUaL

33 thoughts on “O2O – Race Eve

  1. “And while I want to go in saying “I’VE SO EFFING GOT THIS,” it’s important to remember that it’s still going to hurt, and it’s still going to be hard.” – best advice ever!

    Like

  2. SOUaL、
    結構前からSOUaLのブログを読んできて、あなたはなり進捗して来ましたので絶対BQできるぞ。
    頑張れ!

    Like

Comments?

