The Workout Formerly Known as the “Long Run”

When you’re wary of your first full-length (16 week) upcoming marathon plan, and are a self-proclaimed Long Run Hater, how do you get through base training without throwing up at the thought of 5 months worth of multi-hour weekend workouts?

You trick yourself.

image

And when logic starts kicking in, turn you ipod up a little louder and distract yourself with counting how many bikers don’t acknowledge your friendly smiles/nods/waves/HIIIIs.

(appx 94%)

As part of my “base building” plan, I want to keep my weekend runs around double digits, so when real-time training kicks in (August 12th) the distance won’t seem so daunting and I can focus on execution rather than survival.

But the thought of 20 weeks of long runs (4 base + 16 training) makes me physically ill, so I told myself I was just doing an “above-average distance progression run”.  Four mile warm up, and six miles of “just a little bit faster!”.

It worked.

untitled3

Good for confidence AND base-building.  Also that “holy shit I’m going to puke” feeling at the end.

One down, 19 to go.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Momma OUaL is visiting for the week, and has requested a California 5K while in town, so we’re going to go hit up Rocket Racing’s Sunset 5K in Long Beach tonight.  She’s looking for a new best and I’m looking for a good excuse not to race, so I’ll be running with her.

Family Sweat-cation FTW.

599097_10100522385991572_969338717_n

From the Vermillion 5k in June

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Other signs of a looming apocalypse marathon training cycle?  Fresh delivery of Pro Compression socks!

image

If there’s anything that can get me excited about long running, it’s the promise of squeezey socks and hoppy cold beer at the finish.

Pro’s Summer 50% off sale is going through the end of today (Sunday) – use code HEAT50 to stock up, and grab a pair of the limited edition Marathon Orange if your size is still available.

As for the hoppy cold beer, that needs redeemed in person.  See ya at the nearest happy hour.

Sarah OUaL

16 thoughts on “The Workout Formerly Known as the “Long Run”

  1. Thanks for letting us know about the sale. I made it through marathon one with out compression gear, a foam roller, or any type of race fuel- idiotic. You live & learn. Wising up and looking at the webpage now.
    And seriously…. Does no one wave or smile back anymore? Now I do it almost as a game to see who will wave back. When they don’t wave my waves become more animated, keeps me amused on my runs.

    Like

  2. I think I’m going to have to try that trick of not calling it a long run…I like the way you think.

    I love compression socks but in the summer when it is hot as balls and humid, I can’t bring myself to put on the extra layer…I’m sure my calf muscles are angry but it is just too hot.

    Like

  3. We’ve got to coordinate one of these runs. I did 10ish right up near you on Sat morning at a similar pace. Let me know about your longer runs and if you want company to make them seem less awful – if that’s possible after all.

    Like

  4. ugh. I have 12 weeks until my first full marathon, and just thinking about all of the long runs makes me want to hide in the freezer with the lemon cookie ice cream. :( I like your ideas about the 4 mile warmup with a 6 mile run and not calling it a LR. LR-Haters unite! ;)

    Like

  5. OMG, I am so glad I’m not the only runner who notices bikers do not acknowledge us!!!!!!! WTH is up with that??? Is it so hard to say “good morning” or lift a hand to say hello!? Grrr…I get really excited when a biker actually responds! I tell myself, “They must also be a runner!”

    Like

Comments?

