CIM Week Five–Stepback

I’m typically a Taper and Rest Day Queen, but coming off an awesome peak last week I found myself craving miles and itching to run. This was honestly the first time in a while (ever?) I struggled with accepting the stepback.

Blarch. I’m becoming one of THEM. One of those people that LOVE TO RUN.

(uhh except Tuesday and under the influence of candy corn and hormones)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

CIM Training – Week #5

Su – 30min easy bike

M – 5 miles easy – beautiful late night run

T – 3.5 teary, whiney, tempo-fail miles

W – 9.18 fast head-clearing, soul-cleansing, sweatfest accidentally fast miles

60min hatha yoga (mostly just me in child’s pose)

Th – Track Party (the return of the bunny!) 12x400m

7d5266b0fdb011e1bba622000a1de773_7

F – 20min easy bike

Sa – 12 slightly hungover, #heatpocalypse, uneventful miles with Kristina on the beach path. Apparently we’re at that “it’s JUST 12 miles” disordered distance mentality

A2zq3u0CYAAs7Dd

dear future stepback week sarah, IT’S STILL A LONG RUN. eat something and drink more than beer. the legs-on-the-couch-to-reduce-swelling move can stay though.

= 34.68 miles – … ok I might need to go out tonight for .32 miles

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Kristina, Margot, and Rebecca and I were talking Friday at “book club” (nobody read the book) about training, and how to stay sane through such a long and tedious process.

Sure you see some tangible gains along the way, but it can be maddening to work and work and work towards such a far-away goal that’s easy to lose sight of. To think that at week five I’m only 31.25% of the way there.

Looking at the whole picture – staring at 16 weeks of blueprinted long runs and track sessions and splits – gets majorly overwhelming. So this cycle I’ve really focused on each run, and each week, and I think it’s greatly improved my mindset.

Instead of thinking of tackling a big scary singular goal (26.2, PR, BQ, etc), I tackle the tempo, tackle the track, tackle the week’s mileage, knowing each mini goal is getting me closer.

photo6

mini goals = more check marks

(guilty – this is not actually a running-related checklist)

For example, weekend runs used to be about survival, and I was constantly discouraged by my inability to get through distances shorter than the race at paces slower than goal without feeling like death.

“I have to do this again, even further, next week? And the week after that? And after that? How am I ever going to make it to race day, let alone run faster and farther than ever before?? All my friends are sleeping or drinking right now. This is stupid.”

But now, when things get rough and I want to quit, I remind myself that this pain is what’s building me to get there. I’m getting stronger, faster, more mentally tough with each mile.

“It’s supposed to be hard – that’s the only way you’re going to get better. Make it hurt now, it’ll pay off on race day.”

And I’m trusting the process that all of these miles will equal something bigger than the sum of their parts on December 2nd.

Bring on Week Six.

Sarah OUaL

8 thoughts on “CIM Week Five–Stepback

  1. I couldn’t agree more. And, yes, while I used to think the same thoughts – “All my friends are sleeping or drinking right now. This is stupid.” – I have come to realize how much more I get out of running and how great of an accomplishment it is after the fact. AND, the more runner friends I have doing LR’s on Saturday, the less friends I have sleeping/drinking, so then I feel better about life!! Go Big Six.

    Like

Comments?

