CIM Week Eleven–I’m Back?

In other news, I’m the most schizophrenic runner on the planet.

I’ve really really REALLY been trying to work on my mental game this go ‘round, and for the most part I’d say the efforts have been successful. Not at the same rate as my physical gains, but some little peon bits here and there.

This week was a real test of that – how to handle the HIGH highs and LOW lows. Bottling up the endorphins and channeling that positive energy towards more good, and digesting the lessons of the bad and spitting it out and forgetting the rest.

Coming back from injury is frustrating, humbling, and exhilarating. If there’s anything I’ve learned, it’s that it’s up to you how much of an impact each part has. Will you work like hell to claw your way back to where you were? Use it as an excuse for not giving 100%? Cry and act like a baby because life is so unfair and why should you even want to race anymore running is hard and stupid?

I’ve touched all the bases. Some of them fucking blow. One is awesome.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

CIM Training – Week #11

Su – 10mi treadmill. Last 3 progression (:24.40) to test speed on the tib. All clear! 40min on the elliptical after just for shits and giggles and to try to make this somewhat of an actual long run-type effort.

M – 5 easy. Still no pain! Hot damn.

T – Boring 6am Spin class. Seriously this instructor was the worst and his music sucked and also I’m not a morning person and I MISS THE TRACK.

W – 4 easy #Runch miles.

Th – 6mi w 4x1mi repeats. The first “real” test – since speed was what seemed to provoke the pain and I feared 4 weeks without a hard speed/tempo/hill session was bottom-barreling all the hard work I’d put in.

7:08, 6:58, 6:55, 6:57. Boo.Yah. ANNNNND still no pain!

photo 13

thanks for the preppy support, Rocktape.

I needed this workout SO BADLY. I felt the weight of the (marathon) world lift off my shoulders and my attitude made a complete 180. I finally stopped beating myself up over what kind of gains COULD HAVE been made during the 4 weeks of injury, and instead found promise in the fact that my speed hadn’t taken much of a hit during that time.

F – Rest.

Sa – 9mi w Kristina, 4mi walk (15mi planned). There are so many things I could say about this run, but I’m not going to. I’m tired of talking negatively about running and I think I’ve been vesting too much emotion into the low times and not enough into the high.

photo 133

“low times” = broken Garmin. Don’t worry Dr Brian performed emergency surgery and its superglue stitches are healing nicely.

On my (long) walk back to the car, I decided I’d try again tomorrow, with a better attitude and renewed spirit.

I thought about what quitting meant – did I want to quit altogether? Just today? Do I want to quit Ragnar and CIM? Nobody is making me do this, I CHOOSE TO.

Those (rapidly approaching) start lines mean a lot to me, and I’m not willing to just throw them all away because of a minor setback. Pitying myself and throwing training to the shitter aren’t going to make them arrive any slower or hurt any less when they do.

5 more weeks to gain ground, and it’s better to start from where you left off rather than digging out of a hole.

= 34 miles

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Here’s hoping all the frowny face broken OUaL posts are over. I’m so sick of being a whiner and much prefer bragging about kicking track/tempo/LR ass.

On to #12!

Sarah OUaL

14 thoughts on “CIM Week Eleven–I’m Back?

  1. 5 weeks is totally enough time…it’s not like you have lost a bunch of fitness…you are still fast, and if you continue with no pain, you will only get faster!

    Like

  2. Happy to hear that you are back in action-I am in the slump right now that you were in. I am suffering from runner’s knee and can’t run until I am pain free-trying other forms of cardio-not loving them. So happy for you and I only hope I will experience a speedy and positive return to running like you.

    Like

  3. Glad to hear you got some good runs in with no pain! You’re on the road to recovery! You have a good base built up already so just do what you can in the coming weeks and I’m sure you will continue on an up trend. And it’s okay to be a whiner when you need to be ;)

    Like

  4. Marathon training often takes us on an emotional roller coaster. That’s what happens when we have 16 weeks to get ready! I have so much faith in you my friend. The crappy runs right now are a-ok. You know that feeling when we have that one really good run? The one we love, that ends up being perfect and makes us want to run forever? That one is for race day :) Keep on truckin’.

    Like

  5. coming back from injuries suck-and it is such a mental game. i’m loving each little baby step towards the pre-injured me. it’s actually nice to see the progress and has me looking forward to the future. they can’t all be perfect ones. the shitty ones make us stronger. you’ll remember THAT on marathon day. :)

    Like

  6. Love it! Needed to read that as I have 11 on the schedule today and 6 tomorrow. Jumping into where I should be in my plan after a sprained foot at ChiMarathon. Need to ramp up again for Goofy. Ran 3 on Thursday, my first “Fast” run and it was hard and not that fast but I will get back to where I was. Thanks again!

    Like

  7. Pingback: CIM Week Twelve–“Get Your Head Right” | Once Upon a (L)ime

Comments?

