Anyone Wanna Go Crowd Surfing?

In an effort to be more hippie in-tune-on-the-run and save some cash (iTunes highway robbery) I’ve been running without music a lot the last few months. I like it more than I thought I would, but sometimes you just need to trade you thoughts for a hot beat and air-guitar through a tempo.

Know what I mean?

I decided this whole turn-around-the-run-tude thing I’ve got going on this week needed some melodical company and pulled out the old ipod shuffle. Whiiiiiich hasn’t been updated since, October? Stale, over-played songs might be worse than “what’s for dinner?   what’re we doing this weekend? what am I doing FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE OMG QUARTER LIFE CRISIS”

I would actually prefer to stress about my 10 year plan than hear David Guetta ONE. MORE. FREAKING. TIME.

Instead of lugging my phone around for Pandora, I plugged into the home laptop and its archaic, Bri-managed iTunes library. The guy could go the rest of his life hearing only music by Metallica, Zach Brown, and DMB and be perfectly content. Luckily there were a few old college-house-party mixes in there and apparently some Guitar Hero-inspired downloads which surprisingly, I L-O-V-E-D running to.

wires

Mixing it up here and there – everyone loves a good throwback, right? Here were some of my favorites in case you’re in the market for a new-old refresh:

 

Barenaked Ladies – Brian Wilson

I feel like this would be a perfect approaching-the-final-mile song. It starts out subtle but sucks you in with the lyrics and that dang Canadian accent, and then… insta-headbob. Strong beat, catchy chorus, enough variation to keep you interested but still dialed into the rhythm. You know you’re going to finish, it’s just a matter of how strong. The beat builds, louder and faster, your cadence follows and then you finish and head straight home to pull out your orange cargo shorts and book a trip to Canadia.

Bad Religion – Infected

Totally guilty air guitarring to this last night. May or may not have come home and begged Brian to hook up the Playstation for a Guitar Hero concert.

Crossfade – So Far Away

Man, this album was MY JAM in college. I wore the shit out of that cd. Laur and I met them after a concert (I went through a very alternative phase – warped tour, grunge parties, the works) and they asked if we were sisters. We figured they’d invite us on tour with them but I went back to Corntown and never got the call, so…

Green Day – Chump

Everyone loves a little Dookie.

Staind – Right Here

A little slower tempo, but I dig the lyrics. I’m more likely to get wrapped up in the words than the beat, so my playlists are always littered with slower non-traditional workout songs like this.

Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers – American Girl

Classic. That’s all.

Buckcherry – So Far

Brian and I saw Buckcherry (after graduating from the alt-phase) because I liked that Crazy Bitch song and a friend worked at the venue they played at. I’m not super sheltered or naive but hot damn some of that stuff you can’t un-see.

Matchbox Twenty – How Far We’ve Come

Another irresistible head-bobber. Even though Rob Thomas bugs me for some indiscernible reason.

* * * * *

So there ya go. The playlist that turned my “easy 6 miler” into an 8:01/avg with a 7:20 final mile. No, I don’t know where it came from, I’m not asking any questions, and thanking the Run Gods for cashing in some good karma I must’ve had sitting around somewhere.

Oh, and in case you didn’t know – jog.fm has a whole database listed by bpm, and you can search based on your target pace to find songs that match that cadence. Pretttttttty cool.

Speedy thoughts to anyone racing and strong mental juju to everyone gutting out weekend long runs. Especially y’all back east suffering through Winter Overtime. Feel free to come visit.

Sarah OUaL

post-script : still weighing through the comment disabling thing – thanks to everyone who chimed in, both for and against. either way it made for a good discussion, which is kind of ironic now that I think about it…

4 thoughts on “Anyone Wanna Go Crowd Surfing?

Comments?

