Hell Yeah I’ll be at Boston (…someday)

By now a lot has been said about Monday’s events in Boston – way more than I can even begin to comprehend. But whatever your level of affectedness – whether you were there, wished you had been, or knew someone that was – I think we (collectively, “the runners”) can all agree this hit way too close to home.

I don’t have much to contribute (having not been there myself) and most of my thoughts are byproducts of the sadistic “what if” game or rhetoric we’ll never have answers to, so I’ll keep it short.

The outpouring of support, love, and fiery resilience from the running community has been astounding. I’m so proud to be part of this peculiar connected-in-miles-but-otherwise-completely-unrelated group people. High fives to all of you being awesome and finding the good in this face of evil.

It makes me ill thinking what the runners whose spectators were injured are going through. Running has a reputation of being a selfish sport, and it kills me that loved ones there to selflessly cheer on the culmination of someone else’s journey were the ones most affected. That unfair sense of responsibility for putting them in harms way? Terrifying.

image

mom trying to find a nice way to thank me for failing to qualify last year

And finally, I want to run down that finish on Boylston Street more than ever now. Yes, as Emily pointed out, I DO realize that means I’ll have to run another marathon (and then another once I actually get there). I don’t know when or where it will happen, but BQ will be mine. Someday.

Until then I’ll take bittersweet comfort in those 126 seconds that kept me and my family from being there this year, and send all my wishes to those hurting that were.

forboston

Oh and also, FUCK YOU to whoever did this. You’ll get what you deserve.

… x10000

Sarah OUaL

17 thoughts on “Hell Yeah I’ll be at Boston (…someday)

  1. You don’t have to have been there to contribute. In fact, anyone who has ever laced up and run has something to contribute. Moms and dads and friends that cheer us on – hell, even complete strangers that cheer us on – have something to contribute. But now when you do run down Boylston Street, and you will, it will means something more than just the sheer thrill of the achievement. Each step will be, in some way, stamping out the evil that took place on that spot.

    Like

  2. Saw this on FB and thought it was the epitome of the running community: “If you’re trying to defeat the human spirit, marathoner’s are the wrong group to target.”

    Like

  3. I follow a ton of running blogs (basically all your SoCal friends and some more to boot). While I appreciate everyone’s post about the tragedy, for some reason none of the words touched me, and brought actually tears to my eyes, like the last line of your post. I appreciate the anger in your sediment and am just kind of glad to see someone post that anger. We are just so f***ing sick of this.
    So thanks.

    Like

  4. My running buddies and I have vowed over the last couple of days to qualify for Boston come hell or high water. Thanks for your post–it’s fired me up even more.

    Like

  5. Before everything went down on Monday, I obsessively tracked my friends running the race. I had been so excited for what they were getting to experience that I announced to a co-worker that I am going to run another full this year, and if I don’t qualify, I’m going to keep trying until I do. I want to shake my fist at the sky – I’m angry that someone has done this to our community, and I’m taking it personally.

    Until then, I’ve committed to donating 25 cents to the Red Cross for every mile I run for the remainder of the year. Sometimes when time passes we begin to forget, and I want to continue to remember this the rest of the year. My community will not be attacked. I will run strong for those who were innocent victims.

    Thank you for your words, Sarah. As someone above said, you had the best take on this whole mess. I most especially appreciate your last line. It’s exactly what I’ve thought repeatedly over the past few days.

    Like

  6. Your post basically sums up how I have been feeling since Monday. From now on, I am going to make sure I to give extra thanks to spectators at every race I run.

    Like

  7. I don’t think you could have said it better! As a back of the pack runner, I always try to thank the police and the spectators who cheer me on even when no one else is around but now I am going to make sure to try even harder! Oh, and this is one time that a well placed F-bomb is seriously justified!

    Like

  8. You will get there some day, I have no doubt. It took me five tries, and was so worth it to run the streets of Boston and be in the greatest marathon in the world. Unfortunately minutes later life changed for all of us. Thankfully my sister who was cheering me on and I were unharmed. I did not run a qualifying time on Monday, but I will work my hardest to do so next month at the Mountains 2 Beach marathon because there is nothing I want more than to be back in Boston next year.

    Like

  9. I think every runner took it personally, which is a GOOD thing. I’ve never been as proud and grateful to be a runner as I am this week. But my heart aches for those affected.

    Like

  10. Love the sheer honesty with the F-bomb droppin’. I don’t think one has to be a runner, a Bostonian, a mother, a sister, a friend, etc.: it should hit a little too close to home for all of humanity. I appreciate that this brings us closer together as a human race – not just as runners. I hate how, in times of tragedy, we tend to think only those with similarities can truly understand. Call me crazy, but it doesn’t take being a runner to understand how fucked up it is to bomb a marathon. Just like I don’t think I have to be a mother to understand it is sick and twisted it is to shoot up a school or open fire in a movie theatre. Just a heavy, heavy heart today.

    And someday, Lime, I hope to track you at Boston just as I tracked my heart out Monday! You’ll be there.

    Like

  11. I may not run Boston (because I’m slow as a turtle) but my FU is going to be to try and be there next year as a volunteer!!!! I may not be fast enough to run it but I can be there in support of it – after all, in my mind, it was the supporters attacked – which is just like taking a bat to a runners knees!

    Like

Comments?

