“It’s Time” (christian bale batman voice)

“Do you want a beer?”

“No, I’m going running”

I wasn’t planning on running again last night, and actually I’m not sure what prompted the quickfire “no” to Brian’s beer-proposal, either. A beer sounded delicious. But I lost track of time earlier and missed Spin, and couldn’t find a yoga class with a teacher I liked, so if I was going to work out, an 8pm neighborhood run was going to be it.

I laced up, pulled on a dirty sports bra (laundry day), and since it was dark and, again, laundry day, some compression shorts. Aint nobody need to see 5’9” thunder thigh jiggle if they don’t have to. But under the safety of the moon, my hot pants and I headed out for a yet-to-be-determined number of miles.

stride shorts

chicken is to the egg as stride shorts are to fast runs? I didn’t take the SAT

The first few steps were a little creaky and stiff per usual, and I waited a few more strides before deciding whether this was going to be a crapshoot and racked my brain for what I could blame it on: late night, no warmup, ran hard yesterday, fish for dinner, white socks… you name it, I had it ready for excuse doling. That old saying, “never judge a run by the first mile”? I really should start remembering that.

As luck would have it, my legs warmed up and turned over with ease, I felt light and springy and my breathing was freaky smooth. I waved at other runners and bobbed my head to my music. Garmin – we’ve rekindled our love affair but are taking it slow – beeped at mile one and I felt like I’d found that magical stride, where it feels fast but manageable. I suspect that’s what tempo pace is supposed to be, but it’s been so long since I’ve done a proper workout I can’t recall.

Another mile ticked and the fatigue started slowly creeping in. I still didn’t have a mileage plan but a few minutes later found myself at the 2.5mi turnaround.

“5 miles yesterday, 5 miles today? Might be pushing it… But I feel good… OH I LOVE THIS SONG!”

Without intention I kicked it up a gear, and again at the next mile split, and again one more time for the final stretch home.

run4.15

return of the garmin screen shot! rejoice!

I’ve been very hesitant in these past few weeks to read too much into good runs, thinking they were just a fluke and an injury set back could be just around the corner. That coupled with my overly-cautious “comeback” plan had me thinking it’d be 2019 before I finally got the balls to start pushing and really running hard again.

But with the positive progress I’m seeing from the body work with Dr Dreyer, and likely the couple pounds I’ve dropped (amazing the correlation between good food in=feel good on outside) I’m feeling great and maaaaaaaybe ready to start putting stuff on the calendar. Oiselle Team Camp is mid-August, so right now that’s my only focus – hello no one wants to get dropped in front of their idols – but if I know myself and Oregon running at all, I’ll be all hyped up and chomping at the bit for a big fall race.

Let the scheming begin. Where are you racing this fall? Any big-time recommendations?

Sarah OUaL

24 thoughts on ““It’s Time” (christian bale batman voice)

  1. I’m all over the place on fall plans. It’s road marathon with Mom (Wineglass Marathon) vs. trail 50Ks (Wild Duluth, Surf the Murph) vs, since I’m coming off a 50 mile DNF last weekend, the hardest 50 mile race in the Midwest (Superior 50 Mile).

    Or maybe I’ll just do a bunch of 5Ks. Naah…

    Like

  2. I want to plan a fall race but after being injured I am so scared of “jinxing” myself – I know it’s crazy but I am just not ready to commit to anything yet!

    Like

  3. New York?

    Is it fate or just an amazing coincidence that Team Oiselle camp and the Bend Brewfest are happening at the same time? Either way, that weekend is one not to miss.

    Like

  4. I have been injured for so long I refuse to let my string of good runs go to my head but I too refused a beer last night. I’m signed up for Pat’s Run in Tempe, AZ and if that goes well I plan on sticking to a few 5Ks (like the Diamondbacks 5K in May) before committing to anything longer

    Like

  5. Giiiiirl look at you all runnin and stuff :-). I’m so glad to hear you had some good runs, and look at those splits! Yay!! God-willing, I’ll be running NY in November. We all know what God does when we make plans, though…(he laughs-well, he laughs at ME.) So you keep getting healthier, and hopefully I’ll follow in your shoes! When I get fast like you, maybe we can run a race together! Or Ragnar….:-)

    Like

  6. I’m doing what I’m calling a “fitness check” 1/2 mary on May 18th in Fredicksburg, VA (Historic Half), which will be preparation for my goal race at the end of July: Eugene 1/2 mary! So excited for this one, since I’ve never been to Tracktown before AND my friend (who’s running the full) and I decided to road trip out and back to the race :) I’ve been stalking your road trip blogs/tumbler for ideas, since at least the northerly route will be the same (leaving from central PA), but if you have specific suggestions on must-stop sites, I’d love to hear them!

    Like

  7. Another vote for Deeeetroit!! run over the bridge into Canada as the sun rises and a nice underwater mile sprint back through the tunnel at mile 7. It’s a fun race!

    Like

  8. I’m running the Portland Marathon–Portland as in Portland, Oregon, setting of “Portlandia” and home to incredible beer, craft spirits, and food carts. It will be my third time running that race. It’s a good time–not too big, not too small, strong support, and a mostly scenic course.

    Like

  9. John was expecting Jerry and as a result surprised him with a gun that released a paralyzing pulse of energy.
    Under the search results for that website you’ll
    see a cache of the page you’re trying to access.
    And a”new version of Windows Backup will provide a more capable system than any prior version”of such under any name
    it has taken during its”existence as part of Windows has”ever had.

    Like

  10. Most Facebook users are teenagers who do not have a lot of money
    to spend. Google+ is a social networking site that has a range of different features that you can use to connect with patients and other healthcare professionals.
    how can businesses effectively use this new social media platform.

    Like

Comments?

