Renewed Vows

Please join hands, and with your hands your hearts, and repeat after me.

I promise to be true to you in good times and bad, even at mile 20 when I’m cursing your name and howling in pain on the foam roller…

To have and to hold, with copious amounts of Body Glide for those parts holding a little extra tightly, from this day forward…

In sickness and health, unless it’s below the neck or a niggle that needs rest…

For richer and poorer in the name of $100 shoes, race registration binges, and a grocery budget blown on Shot Bloks…

To love and to cherish, including the ugly chafe scars you left on my boobs that time you and sports bra teamed up against me (I know you didn’t mean it)…

Till death do us part or my watch craps out mid-race, whichever comes first.

running vow i do

Thank you for sticking with me through these past few months of dark days, believing our relationship was worth the fight. The nights I blew you off, blamed you for all my pain, and told you I was leaving… you knew I didn’t really mean it. Now that we’ve been through this injury together I know we can get through anything – I’m ready to start rebuilding what I’ve torn down. (And you thought the strain of marathon training was bad, ha!)

I love you, Running, and I’ll do my best to make sure you know that every single day.

Yes, even on long run days.

Yours forever,

Sarah OUaL

10 thoughts on “Renewed Vows

  1. Love it. I especially love the part about the chafing scars on the boobs. I have those too. Glad I’m not the only one (but they suck, so I feel for ya)!

    Like

Comments?

