He Gave Her Wings, and Took Her Pain Away

The world lost an amazing person yesterday.  I’ll be heading back to OH to say my goodbyes and do my best to console my best friend and her family through this terribly difficult time.  L, you are the most amazing person I know and I am completely in awe of your strength and composure.  I’ll be home soon.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
God saw she was getting tired
and a cure was not to be
So He put His arms around her
and whispered, ‘Come with Me’

With tear-filled eyes we watched her
suffer and fade away
Although we loved her deeply
We could not make her stay
A golden heart stopped beating
hard-working hands put to rest
God broke our hearts to prove to us
He only takes the best
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Terry “Mom2” and grand-baby Corynn
Terry made the most of every second, and always told us to “live with no regrets” and to “live, laugh, love”.  While singing and dancing in the kitchen may have seemed embarassing to us as teenagers, I now understand it’s simply a testament of how fully Terry enjoyed life. 
Always offering to host a slumber party, and ALWAYS the instigator of “boy talk”, Terry truly was the type of mother everyone thought of as their own.  Nobody walked into her home without feeling welcomed and loved, and nobody EVER left hungry.

I credit Terry for my love of hummus, red wine, and chocolate chip pancakes.  Every glider in the sky immediately takes me back to summers floating in their pool, watching the planes take off from the airport next door, their motorless counterparts floating behind.  I’ll never look at a Tae Bo or Cindy Crawford workout video without seeing her in a sweatband, urging us (as awkward 7th graders) to join.  And that time I had the terrible cough that wouldn’t go away, but insisted on trying to sleep over anyways?  Let’s just say most wouldn’t have kept their cool when I asked to be taken home at 2 am.

Terry leaves behind a legacy, and many memories in the hearts of all who’d had the pleasure of meeting her.  I feel so blessed to have had such a wonderful person in my life for the past 20-some years.  She raised two incredible daughters, a beautiful grand-daughter, and many more non-biological “adopted kids” – all of whom are better people for having known her.

All my love, may you finally rest in peace Mom2,

“Sarah girl”

4 thoughts on “He Gave Her Wings, and Took Her Pain Away

  1. Pingback: Nike Women’s Marathon – This Is It. « Once Upon a (L)ime

  2. Pingback: The No-Train Sequel… « Once Upon a (L)ime

  3. Pingback: Too Much C-Word « Once Upon a (L)ime

  4. Pingback: Gratuitous Wedding Shot of the Day « Once Upon a (L)ime

Comments?